h1

30 Days of Truth – Day 20

December 15, 2010

I’m back!  Again.  Really, I’m back on the wagon this time.  I had a busy weekend followed by my typical laziness and I lost my mojo.  But it’s back.  Daily bloggage for 10 more days, I swear.  After that…  Well, we’ll see.

Day 20 → Your views on drugs and alcohol.

Ha!  Seriously??  Let’s see if I can sum it up in a succinct phrase or two here.  If you can indulge in (not self-medicate with) drugs (and that’s a broad category there, I might get more focused as I write, maybe not) and alcohol without it negatively impacting your daily life in a social, monetary or emotional way, GO FOR IT.  The end.

No, I’m kidding.  About being done with this topic, not my feelings about drugs and alcohol, of course.  Now, I’m not saying that drugs and/or alcohol should be part of your daily life, but neither should Big Macs or cheesecake.  Nothing in excess is a good thing.  But if you want to go have too many margaritas with your girlfriends or drown your sorrows in some cheap beer or smoke up and watch The Dark Crystal, who can say that’s a bad idea??  I’m talking about recreation here, not addiction.  If you or someone you know is addicted to drugs or alcohol, you should stop.  It’s bad and stuff.  </end PSA>  No really, I’m not condoning drug or alcohol use that leads to physical addiction and harm, stealing money out of grandma’s purse or “all healthy relationships exit stage left.”  Yes, I’m aware that the line between recreation and addiction could become a thin or even invisible one for some people.  Okay… I’m going to shut down that train of thought before I get myself into trouble.  I’ll amend my earlier statements by saying that I do think there are more and less dangerous substances available to be used and potentially abused.

I’ll use that as a segue to launch into my pro-marijuana legalization platform.  I think pot should be legal.  I think pot is more benign than alcohol.  If the government wasn’t so freaking stupid, they’d see it for the amazing source of revenue that it is.  Okay, I guess it’s less of a platform and more of a couple statements linked together.  Oh well.  What else?  I don’t think weed is a gateway drug.  And like I said earlier, I think alcohol is a worse substance to put into your body.  No one throws up at 3pm the next day because they smoked too much pot the night before.  Just sayin’.  I guess you could say that this viewpoint is pretty narrow and doesn’t include much besides mary jane and alcohol.  I’m a little bit more wary of stronger drugs because I have seen them get people into more trouble.  I have also seen some people deal with them recreationally and be just fine.  That’s a sticky wicket, though.  Alright, this is the point where I start rambling and repeating myself so I’ll shut up.

Bottom line?  Drugs and alcohol are not inherently evil.  Nor are the people that enjoy them.  It just takes a few dumbasses to make everyone else look bad.

Leave a Reply

