h1

30 Days of Truth – Day 17

December 7, 2010

Day 17 → A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.

I walked away from this post HOURS ago because I was sure there wasn’t a book that changed my views on anything. Then I thought about going with the smartass route and mentioning a textbook of some sort. Then I randomly thought of a book. It’s kinda cheesy, but it’s true.

The Shack, by William P. Young, is the author’s account of a personal tragedy and the rediscovery of his faith through an unexpected and unbelievable series of introductions and events. Basically, he meets God in the woods at the shack. This visit challenges his preconceived ideas of God and his way of living. Okay, enough of the book report and on to the changing of the views. I can see one of my sisters right now, btw, being very excited by the direction this post is taking. No worries, though, I am still my lovable agnostic self. BUT, in a way, this book did prove to me that I am agnostic and not atheist. It made want to believe in the characters presented in the book. It made me envious of the author and the impact the divine intervention/nervous breakdown/hallucination/wishful thinking had on his life. It encouraged me to know that someone else out there thinks that the notion of a vengeful god is absolutely ridiculous.

I’m not sure where all of this was going. I’ve taken two quizzes and watched three tutorials throughout the writing of this post, so the train of thought was kinda interrupted. But I’m back on the wagon and will be posting every day again (provided I don’t come down with another plague).

Leave a Reply

