h1

30 Days of Truth – Day 11

November 27, 2010

Day 11 → Something people seem to compliment you the most on.

The overwhelming majority of compliments I receive are directed at my hair. My hair is naturally curly. It is also naturally a pain in my ass. My hair and I have had a love/hate relationship for my entire life. My hair has had a love/hate relationship with my mom for almost as long. We’ve both spent many an hour trying to brush, comb, iron, color, blow dry and restrain it into submission, but it has gotten the better of us both more times than not, I think. My hair has been my calling card forever. For memorable moments in both positive and negative lights. It took me until I was about 18 or 19 before I really started hearing the compliments that were being paid and appreciating my mane for the asset that it is. Of course, we still have our moments of disagreement, such as appropriate behavior in wet or humid situations, but aside from those infrequent tiffs, I love my hair and I love the compliments.

Leave a Reply

