h1

30 Days of Truth – Day 8

November 24, 2010

Day 08 → Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.

As I mentioned on Day 4, there’s a long list of people who treated me like shit in my youth, making me feel very small and insignificant.  I know that I gave them far too much power over my thoughts, actions and my life, but they gained that power and the effects have lingered since then.  But here’s the rub.  They made my life hell for a little while- and yes, they were important years, building character and all that- but I’m the person that has continued making my life hell long after they faded away, becoming only memories and photos in a yearbook.

I’m working on it, but I continue to treat myself far worse than I will take from anyone else.  Few of my actions meet my satisfaction, my accomplishments are never enough, my relationships are always poisoned by my flaws and on and on.  I don’t have a self-help mantra or anything, but I’m trying to apply the same intolerance I have for other people’s *ahem* stupidity to my own.

Okay, that’s all for today.  I don’t know how I’m going to make it through the next 22 days without a break…

Leave a Reply

