h1

30 Days of Truth – Day 2

November 18, 2010

Woohoo! We’re on a roll now! Day 1 annoyed me a little bit and today I’m going, “What? Another one? Already??” as if I was unclear of how the concept of the day/night/day/night thing worked. But here we are, at Day 2, a good Pandora station playing, a load of laundry in the dryer, a clean dog sitting at my feet… As if that wasn’t good enough, now I get to talk about love for myself? Doesn’t get any better than that. Okay, fine, that last part was sarcasm, but today has been a good and mildly productive day, so the post gets the old college try.

Day 02 → Something you love about yourself.

Today is the day I expected to have a lot of problems coming up with something to write about. And while it’s not easy, it’s turning out to be easier than I thought, though I’m still racking my brain to come up with something that doesn’t have a qualifier…

I love my intellect. I have come to realize as I age that I have a (dare I say it?) limitless capacity for learning. I hate the fact that I feel arrogant saying it and I hate the fact that somewhere it’s been instilled in me/Gen X/society/whoever that having and using your intelligence, as well as being proud of it, is a negative. Anyway, I love learning and I love school and I think I could be a student for the rest of my life and keep getting new degrees forever. I used to have a lot of “can’t” in my vocabulary. If you think I’ve got a lot of “can’t” now, you evidently haven’t been around me for very long. So, in my delicate youth, I had a lot of “can’t” even in my strongest skill set- academics. I can’t do math, I can’t learn Spanish, I can’t go to college with this major because I’ll have to take X, Y or Z class… can’tcan’tcan’t… Luckily somewhere along the way, I got on board with my cheerleaders (thanks Mom!) and realized that I can learn just about anything if I put my mind to it. Now, I’m not saying that arithmetic and I will be the best of friends any time soon or that organic chemistry is on my schedule for next semester, but they’re not standing in my way, either. I’m not saying that all of my rational or intelligent thoughts are always put to good use, as common sense and critical thinking fail me quite frequently, but I know it’s all in there, squirreled away for when I need it.

So there, I love something about myself. Yay. Now, back to the self-loathing!

PS – I learned something new today during the writing of this post. Damn homophones… Wrack and rack, take a look.

Leave a Reply

